CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

For general questions and discussions specific to the AbleCommerce 7.0 Asp.Net product.
Post Reply
User avatar
NC Software
AbleCommerce Partner
AbleCommerce Partner
Posts: 4620
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm
Contact:

CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by NC Software » Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:02 pm

Anyone else seen this issue? Started about 1-2 weeks ago, trying to login throws a script error only in IE. Does not occur in Chrome or FF.

Code: Select all

document.getElementById('ctl00_wpm_Login_ctl03_LoginValidationSummary').dispose = function() {
    Array.remove(Page_ValidationSummaries, document.getElementById('ctl00_wpm_Login_ctl03_LoginValidationSummary'));
}

(function(id) {
    var e = document.getElementById(id);
    if (e) {
        e.dispose = function() {
            Array.remove(Page_ValidationSummaries, document.getElementById(id));
        }
        e = null;
    }
})('ctl00_wpm_Login_ctl04_RegisterValidationSummary');
My guess is a problem with AJAX Toolkit and/or asp:ValidationSummary.

My site is effectively down for IE users. Any help to resolve is greatly appreciated.
Last edited by NC Software on Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Neal Culiner
NC Software, Inc.

User avatar
NC Software
AbleCommerce Partner
AbleCommerce Partner
Posts: 4620
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by NC Software » Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:45 pm

I installed .NET 4.5 to the server but it makes no difference if the web site targets .NET 4.0 or 4.5. I'm wondering if .NET 4.5 updated scripts or something that is affecting AC 707 for IE users. This could be a critical situation as if a server admin installs .NET 4.5 or via Windows Update it gets installed it could take down AC 7 sites. It may have nothing to do with .NET 4.5 but maybe an update to IE recently? Not sure, I have had IE 8 users also report problems.

I tried commenting out the asp:ValidationSummary controls but then you can't login for whatever reason.
Neal Culiner
NC Software, Inc.

User avatar
NC Software
AbleCommerce Partner
AbleCommerce Partner
Posts: 4620
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by NC Software » Sun Aug 26, 2012 9:46 pm

I'm getting the error trying to view products as well. Pick a binder at http://www.nc-software.com/binders for example.
Neal Culiner
NC Software, Inc.

User avatar
jmestep
AbleCommerce Angel
Posts: 8164
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Dayton, OH
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by jmestep » Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:04 am

You're getting it in Firefox firebug error console also- it just isn't showing the customer that if they don't have firebug on.
Try compiling your site on a computer that has the same IIS settings as your server as far as .net. I think at some time in the past an update to Windows switched my local sites to use .net 4.0 and that broke them. Right now I have numerous older Able 7 sites that are showing .net 4 in IIS and I haven't switched them to that because they won't run that way. I opened a few sites a while ago and had compile errors and I had to change them back to.net 2.0 in IIS when I hadn't changed them to start with.
Judy Estep
Web Developer
jestep@web2market.com
http://www.web2market.com
708-653-3100 x209
New search report plugin for business intelligence:
http://www.web2market.com/Search-Report ... -P154.aspx

User avatar
jmestep
AbleCommerce Angel
Posts: 8164
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Dayton, OH
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by jmestep » Mon Aug 27, 2012 7:28 am

You also could check your web.config file and see if it has changes in it. On some of my local Able 7 sites, I have to either switch them back to 2.0 with references to 3.5 site in the web.config or copy over the new AjaxControlToolkit and ComponentArt dlls from an Able 7 .net 4.0 framework install.
Judy Estep
Web Developer
jestep@web2market.com
http://www.web2market.com
708-653-3100 x209
New search report plugin for business intelligence:
http://www.web2market.com/Search-Report ... -P154.aspx

User avatar
NC Software
AbleCommerce Partner
AbleCommerce Partner
Posts: 4620
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by NC Software » Mon Aug 27, 2012 8:09 am

Thanks Judy, I'm going to be working on this top priority today. I've been running .NET 4.0 just fine, I think this all started when .NET 4.5 was installed. I'm getting the errors on my local dev machine too now regardless of .NET 4.0 or 4.5. This is NOT GOOD! Arrgh!
Neal Culiner
NC Software, Inc.

User avatar
NC Software
AbleCommerce Partner
AbleCommerce Partner
Posts: 4620
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by NC Software » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:03 am

Well, I am stumped! I cannot figure out a workaround or even simply suppressing the javascript error messages to the client. My next step is to recompile all of my related projects to .NET 4.0 and remove .NET 4.5 from the server. However, that doesn't help anyone else as .NET 4.5 starts flowing to servers through developers and later windows update this problem will start appearing and yes, just in time for the holidays and we'll have major problems with AC stores. I hope it's something simple and stupid but I cannot find it. Nothing has changed in my site since installing .NET 4.5 on the server and it's obviously working once you get past the error messages.
Neal Culiner
NC Software, Inc.

User avatar
Logan Rhodehamel
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4116
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 5:26 pm

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by Logan Rhodehamel » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:29 am

What is the error it reports?
Cheers,
Logan
Image.com

If I do not respond to an unsolicited private message, it's not because I'm ignoring you. It's because the answer to your question is valuable to others. Try the new topic button.

User avatar
NC Software
AbleCommerce Partner
AbleCommerce Partner
Posts: 4620
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by NC Software » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:34 am

It's the info in the top post I included. If you open IE and just click "My Account" at www.nc-software.com you should see it. If IE has script debugging enabled you'll see the detail.

I've tried everything I can think of including aspnet_regiis -ae (remove all) then -i to reinstall, no changes.

I tried commenting out the asp:ValidationSummary but it won't complete the login, you'll get an async postback timeout
Neal Culiner
NC Software, Inc.

User avatar
Logan Rhodehamel
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4116
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 5:26 pm

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by Logan Rhodehamel » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:43 am

This is the actual error:

Code: Select all

function () {Array.remove(Page_ValidationSummaries, document.getElementById("ctl00_wpm_UpsellPage_ctl05_BasketShippingEstimate1_ValidationSummary1"));}(function (id) {var e = document.getElementById(id);if (e) {e.dispose = function () {Array.remove(Page_ValidationSummaries, document.getElementById(id));};e = null;}}) is not a function
Cheers,
Logan
Image.com

If I do not respond to an unsolicited private message, it's not because I'm ignoring you. It's because the answer to your question is valuable to others. Try the new topic button.

User avatar
Logan Rhodehamel
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4116
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 5:26 pm

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by Logan Rhodehamel » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:44 am

On the login page try disabling client script on the vaildation summary. (EnableClientScript="false"). Report back.
Cheers,
Logan
Image.com

If I do not respond to an unsolicited private message, it's not because I'm ignoring you. It's because the answer to your question is valuable to others. Try the new topic button.

User avatar
NC Software
AbleCommerce Partner
AbleCommerce Partner
Posts: 4620
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by NC Software » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:46 am

You'll get errors depending on where you go, the login page, view a binder, seems to be anywhere a asp:ValidationSummary is used.

YES - I did try setting EnableClientScript to FALSE and it will not login. Let me set that now and you can see.
Neal Culiner
NC Software, Inc.

User avatar
NC Software
AbleCommerce Partner
AbleCommerce Partner
Posts: 4620
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by NC Software » Mon Aug 27, 2012 11:48 am

EnableClientScript="false" is now set on the asp:ValidationSummary line. I was able to login the first time. I logged out to retry and I see the "Processing" spinner and it's hung. It will eventually timeout.
Neal Culiner
NC Software, Inc.

User avatar
Logan Rhodehamel
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4116
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 5:26 pm

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by Logan Rhodehamel » Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:31 pm

Well... what needs to be done is to eliminate .NET 4.5 as a cause. It needs to be certain that is the problem and not something else.
Cheers,
Logan
Image.com

If I do not respond to an unsolicited private message, it's not because I'm ignoring you. It's because the answer to your question is valuable to others. Try the new topic button.

User avatar
NC Software
AbleCommerce Partner
AbleCommerce Partner
Posts: 4620
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by NC Software » Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:36 pm

Okay, will proceed with the next step of moving back to 4.0 and removing 4.5 from the server.
Neal Culiner
NC Software, Inc.

User avatar
NC Software
AbleCommerce Partner
AbleCommerce Partner
Posts: 4620
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by NC Software » Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:38 pm

Logan,

I'm in the process now of rewinding back to .NET 4.0. I figured I'd check a few sites first starting with yours. You have script errors too (IE 10) when clicking Login (top right). Not sure about other IE versions - FYI

All other sites I tried so far seem fine so I'll continue my roll back.
Neal Culiner
NC Software, Inc.

User avatar
NC Software
AbleCommerce Partner
AbleCommerce Partner
Posts: 4620
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: CRITICAL: Getting a script error trying to login with IE

Post by NC Software » Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:26 pm

Rollback to .NET 4.0 *DID* fix the issue so I highly recommend installing .NET 4.5 as a test. If you have MSDN and install VS 2012 (.NET 4.5 comes with it as you know) then you'll see the problem locally as well. Stating again, AC itself does not have to have any changes at all, simply installing .NET 4.5 on a server WILL break AC7.

And for humor sake, uninstalling 4.5 took 4.x with it so that had to be reinstalled then run aspnet_regiis -i to be safe.

Have fun...
Neal Culiner
NC Software, Inc.

Post Reply