Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

For general questions and discussions specific to the AbleCommerce 7.0 Asp.Net product.
Post Reply
gdelorey@mitcs.com
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:33 pm

Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by gdelorey@mitcs.com » Fri Apr 29, 2011 10:03 am

Hi -

I recently upgraded a client's site from 7.0.3 to 7.0.7. They have a fixed amount coupon for $10 orders over $100. Previously, the product order would list all the items and then a $10 coupon applied at the bottom. Now, under each product line, it takes a certain portion of that $10 off and adds a 'COUPON' line under each product line. The total taken off is still $10, but the orders screens are confusing and ugly. See attachment.

Thanks,
Greg
Attachments
coupons_issue.JPG
(99.08 KiB) Downloaded 5047 times

gdelorey@mitcs.com
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:33 pm

Re: Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by gdelorey@mitcs.com » Fri May 06, 2011 4:57 pm

Well I've tried finding settings to disable this, but no luck. If anyone has ideas, please let me know.

Thanks!
Greg

Netfinity
Ensign (ENS)
Ensign (ENS)
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:22 pm

Re: Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by Netfinity » Wed May 25, 2011 3:13 pm

Hi, an answer to this question would be great thanks. This is not a great way to display coupons and our customers are asking questions as well.

Thanks
Image
http://www.netfinity.co.nz
AbleCommerce specialists for the International Community

gdelorey@mitcs.com
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:33 pm

Re: Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by gdelorey@mitcs.com » Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:41 am

Netfinity -

Have you had any luck resolving this issue?

Thanks,
Greg

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by Katie » Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:23 am

Hello all,

The order coupon behavior was changed when we introduced a new tax service in version 7.0.6 called AvaTax. The reason it required a change was because of calculating taxes on modified orders. Once the order was placed, if you had to alter the order (e.g. return an item), there was no way to figure out the tax impact if the order included coupons. AvaTax was up in arms about it.

We realize now that we should have added a coupon display option at the same time. Within the next few weeks, the developers are going to create a hot patch to correct the issue.

Sorry for the late reply. Someone here opened a bug report this week and referenced this discussion.

Thanks for letting us know.

Katie
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

gdelorey@mitcs.com
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:33 pm

Re: Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by gdelorey@mitcs.com » Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:29 am

Thanks, Katie!

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by Katie » Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:25 pm

We've provided a work-around to the changed coupon behavior. One file has been modified with approx. 20 lines of new display code.

Download: ftp://ftp.ablecommerce.com/patches/OneP ... t.ascx.zip

Extract "OnePageCheckout.ascx.cs" in the \conlib\ folder.

This will only fix the coupon itemization shown in the basket on checkout. The invoice/receipt pages do not have this problem. Unfortunately, we were not able to carry out the changes in the admin. Hopefully, the code can be implemented there as well.

Thanks for your patience...
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

gdelorey@mitcs.com
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:33 pm

Re: Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by gdelorey@mitcs.com » Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:47 am

Thank you!

User avatar
compunerdy
Admiral (ADM)
Admiral (ADM)
Posts: 1276
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 3:55 pm

Re: Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by compunerdy » Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:44 pm

Katie wrote:We realize now that we should have added a coupon display option at the same time. Within the next few weeks, the developers are going to create a hot patch to correct the issue.
This has happened on a couple of key features such as kits as well. I hope in the future we will not see any of these major changes without the option to keep the current setup.

The discount should also be tied to the order. As in if I change the cost of a item the discount should be recalculated which it is not currently. Also if you try to add a item to a customer who's account has a discount the system does not apply the accounts discount as it should.

gdelorey@mitcs.com
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:33 pm

Re: Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by gdelorey@mitcs.com » Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:06 pm

Katie -

Is there a fix in the works for the cart page? It still displays a coupon line item for each item in the cart.

Thanks,
Greg

crazyjoe
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 172
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:20 pm

Re: Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by crazyjoe » Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:47 pm

BUMP on getting this fixed up on the Cart page too.
Crazy Joe Sadloski
Webmaster
Hot Leathers Inc.
http://www.hotleathers.com

User avatar
jmestep
AbleCommerce Angel
Posts: 8164
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Dayton, OH
Contact:

Re: Fixed Amount Coupon Totaling

Post by jmestep » Sat Nov 19, 2011 10:13 am

I just did an upgrade for a client from 7.0.4 to 7.0.7 and he wasn't happy with the coupon handling. So I did custom code to revert back to the 7.0.4 way of doing it so there is one coupon line item for the order everywhere, even in the admin.
I had forgotten this post about why it changed. Maybe Able can put a toggle in for merchants that don't use AvaTax to revert back to the old way? We've got another client who uses kits for products as the best way they found to handle a particular configuration and they have 3 different things making up a kit and the order shows the coupon entry for the product, then three coupon lines of 0 for the kit products.
Judy Estep
Web Developer
jestep@web2market.com
http://www.web2market.com
708-653-3100 x209
New search report plugin for business intelligence:
http://www.web2market.com/Search-Report ... -P154.aspx

Post Reply