Unable to Check-out 7.0.7

For general questions and discussions specific to the AbleCommerce 7.0 Asp.Net product.
Post Reply
User avatar
RichWendrock
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:55 am
Location: Austin Texas
Contact:

Unable to Check-out 7.0.7

Post by RichWendrock » Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:13 pm

Does anyone have a problem checking out when the shipping address is different than the billing address?

We are running an AbleCommerce 7.0.7 store recently ungraded from 7.0.1

We think this has been happening for a few months. We have had reports of customers not being able to check-out in the past but we could not identify the problem until recently. This week we had a customer complain about not being able to check-out and I noticed they had a different shipping address. Everytime I enter a different shipping address, I get this message. When I check-out without changing the shipping address sale completes.

Checkout Message
Your order has not been completed and payment was not processed.

Your cart appears to have been modified during checkout. Please verify the contents of your order and resubmit your payment.

If any or all of the shipping methods are missing, there may have been a problem communicating with the shipper. Click here to restart the checkout.


This message appears in Checkout/Default.aspx page after selecting a different shipping address and a payment method and then clicking the payment method to continue. I do not see any entries in the error log.
Regards,
Richard

http://www.TheHomePageStore.com

AbleCommerce
VERSION: 7.0.7.14588
MSSQL v2005
AC SCHEMA v2005
.NET CLR v2.0.50727.3634

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Unable to Check-out 7.0.7

Post by Katie » Sat Aug 27, 2011 9:12 am

Hi Richard,

I've seen this error before, but not for a very long time.

Do you think it might have something to do with this post -
viewtopic.php?f=61&t=15361

I'm wondering if you upgraded your store using the Dataport?

Thanks,
Katie
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

User avatar
RichWendrock
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:55 am
Location: Austin Texas
Contact:

Re: Unable to Check-out 7.0.7

Post by RichWendrock » Mon Aug 29, 2011 1:19 am

Hi Katie,
No, the store in that post is working perfectly. This is the first of my 3 stores. I opened this one a couple of years ago. The store mentioned in the post to which you draw attention and another store were migrated to AbleCommerce from Storefront. I have a ticket open on this with AbleCommerce. I just wanted to know if any users have seen the same problem.

Thanks,
Richard

User avatar
jmestep
AbleCommerce Angel
Posts: 8164
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Dayton, OH
Contact:

Re: Unable to Check-out 7.0.7

Post by jmestep » Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:01 am

Have you made any customizations to the page? I have seen that error before when coupon functionality is customized.
Judy Estep
Web Developer
jestep@web2market.com
http://www.web2market.com
708-653-3100 x209
New search report plugin for business intelligence:
http://www.web2market.com/Search-Report ... -P154.aspx

User avatar
RichWendrock
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:55 am
Location: Austin Texas
Contact:

Re: Unable to Check-out 7.0.7

Post by RichWendrock » Mon Aug 29, 2011 8:04 am

Thanks Judy but no, no customization to the checkout folder. I ran a folder compare on the checkout folder in this store compared to one of the new stores that we opened in June. And a store that does not have this problem, I should add. All files in the two folders are the same.
Regards,
Richard

http://www.TheHomePageStore.com

AbleCommerce
VERSION: 7.0.7.14588
MSSQL v2005
AC SCHEMA v2005
.NET CLR v2.0.50727.3634

User avatar
RichWendrock
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:55 am
Location: Austin Texas
Contact:

Re: Unable to Check-out 7.0.7

Post by RichWendrock » Mon Aug 29, 2011 10:49 am

I looked in the AbleCommerce code and found that the message is displayed when the _CurrentBasketHash is not equal to the _SavedBasketHash.

//Make sure basket hasn't changed during checkout
if (_CurrentBasketHash != _SavedBasketHash)
{
e.Cancel = true;
CheckoutMessagePanel.Visible = true;
CheckoutMessage.Text = "Your order has not been completed and payment was not processed.<br /><br />Your cart appears to have been modified during checkout. Please verify the contents of your order and resubmit your payment.";
RecalculateBasket(true);
return;
}
Regards,
Richard

http://www.TheHomePageStore.com

AbleCommerce
VERSION: 7.0.7.14588
MSSQL v2005
AC SCHEMA v2005
.NET CLR v2.0.50727.3634

User avatar
AbleMods
Master Yoda
Master Yoda
Posts: 5170
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:47 am
Location: Fort Myers, Florida USA

Re: Unable to Check-out 7.0.7

Post by AbleMods » Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:03 am

I've seen this happen before when a user control in a different part of the checkout page (usually the store header) is manipulating the basket contents. Each postback/refresh causes that user control to fire and mess with the basket contents.

OnePageCheckout detects this and throws the error because the basket changed unexpectedly between postbacks.

In the last case I saw, it was a customization that showed the basket total and quantity in the store header. However in the customized code, they were firing a _Basket.Package() or _Basket.Recalculate() (can't remember which) which forced AC7 to recompute all shipping charges. Since the line items in the basket are now changed, OPC threw the error.

Only happened on orders that were A) Anonymous and B) different billto/shipto.

Solution was to create a copy of the store header into a new scriptlet, remove the custom control from the copied header and then assign the copied header to the checkout page. That way checkout always used a different header scriptlet than the rest of the storefront.
Joe Payne
AbleCommerce Custom Programming and Modules http://www.AbleMods.com/
AbleCommerce Hosting http://www.AbleModsHosting.com/
Precise Fishing and Hunting Time Tables http://www.Solunar.com

User avatar
RichWendrock
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 12:55 am
Location: Austin Texas
Contact:

Re: Unable to Check-out 7.0.7

Post by RichWendrock » Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:19 am

Mike Ward at AbleCommerce identified a workaround for the problem. He found that if we turn off the right column during checkout, the problem goes away. We have customization in that right column. Mike suspects that there may have been a change in the official code for the right column and our custom code may not be up-to-date. The code for that column can be located under the App_Data\Scriptlets\Default\Sidebar folder or under Manage Scriptets in version 7.0.7. I am trying now to determine if there is a difference between our code and the Ablecommerce issued code for that column. I compared the default columns folder and all files are the same. Perhaps the problem is in one of the controls being included in the right column. I will let you know when I find the exact cause of the problem. Until then the workaround is to turn off the right column during checkout.
Regards,
Richard

http://www.TheHomePageStore.com

AbleCommerce
VERSION: 7.0.7.14588
MSSQL v2005
AC SCHEMA v2005
.NET CLR v2.0.50727.3634

User avatar
jmestep
AbleCommerce Angel
Posts: 8164
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Dayton, OH
Contact:

Re: Unable to Check-out 7.0.7

Post by jmestep » Sat Sep 03, 2011 8:12 am

I have recently done some work on a 7.0.0 site that had a highly customized checkout flow and there was a limit to the time they wanted me to spend so I just pointed them in the right direction of what I had found. They had a multi page checkout, but when it had been customized a few years ago, they had taken the one page checkout and made the multi page flow from copies of that page so there were a lot of unnecessary basket routines, like recalculate, package, etc that were running changing the contents of the basket. When I replaced the guts of their pages on a dev site with pages from Able's multi page checkout, it fixed one of the problems they were having. At that point, they didn't want to spend more, but they did still have a basket total display control in the header and I've suspected that was causing the unsolved problem they are having now.
We have run into that saved basket hash problem and have got to the point where if we are doing something special with coupons (like applying two at a time or dynamically changing the rules), I've got some custom basket recalculate and basket helper code that I use instead of Able's. I have the source code, so I lifted sections from that and modified them.
Judy Estep
Web Developer
jestep@web2market.com
http://www.web2market.com
708-653-3100 x209
New search report plugin for business intelligence:
http://www.web2market.com/Search-Report ... -P154.aspx

User avatar
VonHenry
Ensign (ENS)
Ensign (ENS)
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 7:55 am

Re: Unable to Check-out 7.0.7

Post by VonHenry » Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:03 am

/Resurrection

I just pushed a site to the live server (copy) and am seeing this for the first time. I have had zero issues with this in the past with other customers or even with this customers test site.
The ONLY difference is now SSL is enabled. I'll keep poking to see what I can find, and to see if my issue is same as others, or a bit different.

Post Reply