Category vs Webpage

Store UI, layout, design, look and feel; Discussion on the customer facing pages of your online store. Cascading Style Sheets, Themes, Scriptlets, NVelocity and the components in the ConLib directory.
Post Reply
ZPCAC
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:08 am

Category vs Webpage

Post by ZPCAC » Mon May 16, 2016 7:23 am

Hello !

Do category pages and webpages share the same editing capabilities ? The reason i am asking is i am trying to put in a slider into the head of a category page but im not having much success.

Any assistance is appreciated !

Thanks
Bret

crizilla
Ensign (ENS)
Ensign (ENS)
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 6:29 am

Re: Category vs Webpage

Post by crizilla » Tue May 17, 2016 8:01 am

in the admin panel, you can put stuff in the summary section after you click on a category. Is that what you mean?

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Category vs Webpage

Post by Katie » Tue May 17, 2016 12:29 pm

Category pages have more control of what information can be displayed or hidden. Please see the Merchant Guide here for details -

http://help.ablecommerce.com/mergedProj ... tegory.htm

There is a parameter which can enable or disable the summary for a category page. There is also one for the category description.

example:

[[ConLib:CategoryGridPage Cols="3" PagingLinksLocation="BOTTOM" DisplayBreadCrumbs="True" DefaultCaption="Catalog" ShowSummary="False" ShowDescription="False"]]

If you can be more specific about the field you are entering the information, it would help.

Also, you are posting to the older AbleCommerce 7.0 forum. Are you using Gold or 7.0.x? The link I provided is for Gold.

Thanks
Katie
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

ZPCAC
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:08 am

Re: Category vs Webpage

Post by ZPCAC » Fri May 20, 2016 2:26 am

Katie:

I am using Gold r9.
The area i am entering information into would be the html head and the html source editor of the summary section.

I can also include the code i am using if that would provide any further assistance.

Thank you !
Bret

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Category vs Webpage

Post by Katie » Fri May 20, 2016 3:15 am

Hello Bret,

The part of a webpage that is visible is between the body tags, so you need to put your slider within the description of the webpage.

If you have some javascript to run the slider, then you can put that in the html portion.

Hope this helps,
Katie
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

ZPCAC
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:08 am

Re: Category vs Webpage

Post by ZPCAC » Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:48 am

KATIE

I tried your edit and did not have success. currently my category page is displaying improper and i am unable to remove my edits you mentioned to try. I am recieving a message saying my site is not responding due to Long-running script.

Please HELP!!! again this caused me issues on my category page and i cant get it back to normal

Bret

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Category vs Webpage

Post by Katie » Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:55 am

Bret,

If you enter invalid html without proper closing tags, it can break any page.

Thanks,
Katie
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

ZPCAC
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:08 am

Re: Category vs Webpage

Post by ZPCAC » Mon Jun 13, 2016 4:56 am

Katie

I have tried your suggested edits and i am still having difficulty getting my slider to appear where i would like.

First i copied and pasted the following code into my HTML head area:

Code: Select all

<link href="allinone_bannerRotator.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
<link href='http://fonts.googleapis.com/css?family=Droid+Sans' rel='stylesheet' type='text/css'>

<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.9.0/jquery.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jqueryui/1.9.2/jquery-ui.min.js"></script>
<script src="js/jquery.ui.touch-punch.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script src="js/allinone_bannerRotator.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
Then i copied and pasted the following code into my HTML source editor of the description area:

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.9.0/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jqueryui/1.9.2/jquery-ui.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/jquery.ui.touch-punch.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/allinone_bannerRotator.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">// <![CDATA[
jQuery(function() {

			jQuery('#allinone_bannerRotator_universal').allinone_bannerRotator({
				skin: 'universal',
				width: 960,
				height: 384,
				thumbsWrapperMarginBottom:35,				
				autoHideBottomNav:false,
				showPreviewThumbs:false
			});		
			
			
		});
// ]]></script>
<div id="allinone_bannerRotator_universal" style="display: none;"><!-- IMAGES -->
<ul class="allinone_bannerRotator_list">
<li data-text-id="#allinone_bannerRotator_photoText1"><img src="images/universal/01_universal.jpg" alt="" /></li>
<li data-text-id="#allinone_bannerRotator_photoText2" data-link="http://codecanyon.net/user/LambertGroup" data-target="_blank"><img src="images/universal/02_universal.jpg" alt="" /></li>
<li data-text-id="#allinone_bannerRotator_photoText3"><img src="images/universal/03_universal.jpg" alt="" /></li>
<li data-text-id="#allinone_bannerRotator_photoText4"><img src="images/universal/04_universal.jpg" alt="" /></li>
<li data-text-id="#allinone_bannerRotator_photoText5"><img src="images/universal/05_universal.jpg" alt="" /></li>
</ul>
<!-- TEXTS -->
<div id="allinone_bannerRotator_photoText1" class="allinone_bannerRotator_texts">
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement11_universal" data-initial-left="50" data-initial-top="10" data-final-left="50" data-final-top="40" data-duration="0.5" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0">Up to 5 types of banners</div>
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement12_universal" data-initial-left="50" data-initial-top="10" data-final-left="50" data-final-top="70" data-duration="0.5" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0.3">Each with <a href="http://codecanyon.net/user/LambertGroup" target="_blank">multiple</a> SKINS</div>
</div>
<div id="allinone_bannerRotator_photoText2" class="allinone_bannerRotator_texts">
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement21_universal" data-initial-left="550" data-initial-top="60" data-final-left="550" data-final-top="60" data-duration="0.5" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0">16 transition effects<br /> for images</div>
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement22_universal" data-initial-left="550" data-initial-top="125" data-final-left="550" data-final-top="125" data-duration="0.5" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0.3">optional can set the transition<br /> for each image</div>
</div>
<div id="allinone_bannerRotator_photoText3" class="allinone_bannerRotator_texts">
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement31_universal" data-initial-left="480" data-initial-top="60" data-final-left="50" data-final-top="60" data-duration="0.5" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0">Animated text from any direction</div>
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement32_universal" data-initial-left="0" data-initial-top="75" data-final-left="50" data-final-top="75" data-duration="0.5" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0.3">top, bottom, left and right</div>
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement33_universal" data-initial-left="50" data-initial-top="250" data-final-left="50" data-final-top="110" data-duration="1" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0.5">Any color, CSS and HTML formated</div>
</div>
<div id="allinone_bannerRotator_photoText4" class="allinone_bannerRotator_texts">
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement41_universal" data-initial-left="50" data-initial-top="0" data-final-left="50" data-final-top="260" data-duration="0.5" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0">Line One is here</div>
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement42_universal" data-initial-left="50" data-initial-top="384" data-final-left="50" data-final-top="240" data-duration="0.5" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0.3">Line Two over there</div>
</div>
<div id="allinone_bannerRotator_photoText5" class="allinone_bannerRotator_texts">
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement51_universal" data-initial-left="400" data-initial-top="350" data-final-left="400" data-final-top="52" data-duration="0.5" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0"><a href="http://codecanyon.net/user/LambertGroup" target="_blank">Cool Title Right Here</a></div>
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement52_universal" data-initial-left="400" data-initial-top="110" data-final-left="400" data-final-top="92" data-duration="0.5" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0.3">Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis <a href="http://codecanyon.net/user/LambertGroup" target="_blank"> aute irure </a> dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.</div>
<div class="allinone_bannerRotator_text_line textElement53_universal" data-initial-left="400" data-initial-top="350" data-final-left="400" data-final-top="262" data-duration="0.5" data-fade-start="0" data-delay="0"><a href="http://codecanyon.net/user/LambertGroup" target="_blank">Click - this is a button</a></div>
</div>
<!--       --></div>
I then copied and pasted the following code into the description area:

Code: Select all

[[ConLib:CategoryDetailsPage DefaultCaption="Catalog" DefaultCategorySummary="Welcome to our store." PagingLinksLocation="BOTTOM" ShowSummary="False" ShowDescription="True"]]
I am unsure what i am doing incorrect and some advising would be greatly appreciated.
Also i copied and pasted this code from a working slider in our store.

Thanks,
Bret

Post Reply