Making the most of the custom Order Status feature

This forum is where we'll mirror posts that are of value to the community so they may be more easily found.
AbleMods
Master Yoda
Master Yoda

Making the most of the custom Order Status feature

Post by AbleMods » Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:04 am

Introduction
I've had some time lately to experience a somewhat higher volume of orders with my AC7 site. While that's a good situation to be in, it also invariably brings out the weaknesses in your order management process.

As a result, I've developed a handy system for leveraging a fantastic feature in AC7. This article will explain my unique needs and how those needs have been met using the custom Order Status feature.

This article assumes AC7 RC2.

The Order Status field
The order status is very unique compared to other status fields in AC7. Every other status field in the system, for example Shipment Status or Payment Status, is hard-coded to a specific set of choices. Even if you could directly or indirectly change those status flags, your options are still limited by the design of the system.
This is not true for Order Status. You can define as many status codes are required by your order processing needs. This gives you an incredible amount of flexibility.

Order Classification
Once your order volume reaches a specific point, you'll need to implement some form of order classification. This step allows a smooth flow of orders through your business while organizing the information in a logical fashion.

Using your own custom Order Status values gives you complete flexibility in classifying your orders into groups. This lets you streamline your order management process by grouping like-orders into that logical fashion you need. Then you can begin to work with specific collections of orders that all require a common action. Or even better, assign specific staff members to be "responsible" for specific order statuses.

The Dashboard