Tip: Populating dropdown lists with AC7 data

This forum is where we'll mirror posts that are of value to the community so they may be more easily found.
AbleMods
Master Yoda
Master Yoda

Tip: Populating dropdown lists with AC7 data

Post by AbleMods » Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:12 pm

Introduction
Well it's been a little while since I wrote an article, so I thought I'd travel a different path for a while and post some of my coding/programming tips. I've been a programmer for over 25 years, mostly in the dBase world starting with Clipper/dBase II and continuing to today with ASP.Net 2.0. One thing that continues to impress me with ASP.Net is how many different ways there are to accomplish a given task. Great if you're young and have a keen memory - not so great when you're getting long in the tooth and short in the memory :)

So I've had to rely on some good habits I developed long ago. Consistency. Keeping your development style consistent over time will have huge rewards for you down the road. This can be difficult to do at first, especially if you're just getting wet-behind-the-ears with .Net coding. You're in a learning mode, so how you did it last week won't necessarily be how you do it next week.

But eventually you will narrow your style. Your path to honing your style should at least include improving readability, maintaining a logical flow and allow for modification without a full rewrite. Again, easier said than done but experience is the best teacher. Always keep those three basic principles in mind as you develop and you will improve, I promise.

Populating Dropdown List Controls
Often I find myself needing to populate a dropdown list with values from an AC7 table. For today's example, let's say we've been given a programming task. That task is to present the user with a dropdown list of choices from an AC7 table. To be more specific, we need to let the user tell us (the programmer) which Email Template they would like to use.