[Resolved] Greetings! ...and a Lucene indexing issue

For general questions and discussions specific to the AbleCommerce GOLD ASP.Net shopping cart software.
Calbeth
Ensign (ENS)
Ensign (ENS)

[Resolved] Greetings! ...and a Lucene indexing issue

Post by Calbeth » Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:52 am

Hello AbleCommerce Community,

Well, I've been lurking these forums for some weeks and, as it tends to, my lurking time has drawn to a close with the occurrence of a real issue. I'm hoping someone with Apache/server-side expertise might be of assistance.

I'm in beginning stages of development for a client project. I've installed AbleCommerce Gold (build 4194) to a remote server we're using for development. The issue arises when, from the Admin Console, I browse to Categories > Products. I'm promptly redirected to a Windows Server error page complaining about a missing index file called '_1y.frq'. I've been all over the web for the past three hours over this. I'm a front end developer, so suffice it to say I'm having trouble making heads or tales of the backend Greek. But near as I can discern it's some issue related to the Apache/Lucene indexing process, and it's not isolated to the 'FRQ' file type. Further, dolty designer me has no idea what Lucene's role is in the AC platform.

Two links that might or might not help contextualize the issue:
1. What is an FRQ file? http://lucene.apache.org/core/old_versi ... requencies
2. Publicly available email correspondence about the Apache/Lucene indexing moodiness: http://mail-archives.apache.org/mod_mbo ... ail.com%3E

Also note:
1. The server is shared and remotely hosted, so I don't immediately have commandline access which limits my diagnostics toolset.
2. I also have UmbracoCMS installed which as I understand it uses Lucene (could the two platforms be, in some way, dueling?)
3. The platform otherwise appears fully operational--I can even still create new products via Catalog > Categories.

System specs:
1. Windows 2008 Server