XML Sitemap issues?

For general questions and discussions specific to the AbleCommerce GOLD ASP.Net shopping cart software.
Post Reply
frankenstein897
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:51 am
Location: Indiana
Contact:

XML Sitemap issues?

Post by frankenstein897 » Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:20 am

I found something interesting. Maybe this is by design but, I don't think so. I have all 3 check boxes checked for the XML Sitemap, Categories, Products and Webpages. Well, with webpages, it includes all of the category page types since they are stored in the same table in the database, I guess. Apparently those category pages aren't directly browsable, make sense. So, Google throws errors, which if you browse directly to those pages you do get an error. So, the only way I can get Google to stop letting me know about errors is to turn off putting the webpages in the XML site map. Kind of a bummer since I would like my other legitimate webpages I created to be in the Sitemap. Anyone see this yet? What are you doing to get around this?

Thanks,
Chris
Thanks,
Chris

http://www.networkcablesonline.com
Network Cables Online, LLC
Running AbleCommerce GOLD R6

User avatar
jmestep
AbleCommerce Angel
Posts: 8164
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Dayton, OH
Contact:

Re: XML Sitemap issues?

Post by jmestep » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:07 am

I just tested on an R2 site and ran into the same problem. I'll post a bug report.
Judy Estep
Web Developer
jestep@web2market.com
http://www.web2market.com
708-653-3100 x209
New search report plugin for business intelligence:
http://www.web2market.com/Search-Report ... -P154.aspx

frankenstein897
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:51 am
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: XML Sitemap issues?

Post by frankenstein897 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:36 am

OK, thanks! For now, I just turned off webpages getting loaded into the site map.
Thanks,
Chris

http://www.networkcablesonline.com
Network Cables Online, LLC
Running AbleCommerce GOLD R6

User avatar
mazhar
Master Yoda
Master Yoda
Posts: 5084
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 8:21 am
Contact:

Re: XML Sitemap issues?

Post by mazhar » Tue Dec 11, 2012 8:59 am

I just looked into this and seems like it can be fixed with a small change. You need to edit CommonSiteMapProvider.cs file which can be found under Website/Codes/ folder if you are using Web Application build. If you are using Website build then it can be found under Website/App_Code folder. You need to locate following code at line#229

Code: Select all

if (wp.Visibility == CatalogVisibility.Public)
and update it as below

Code: Select all

if (wp.WebpageType == WebpageType.Content && wp.Visibility == CatalogVisibility.Public)
After saving the file if you are using Web Application build you will need to recompile the Web Application and upload AbleCommerce.dll to bin folder. But if you are using Website project all you need is to upload the modified file to Website/App_Code folder. Now if you generate the XML sitemap again it shouldn't include display pages in sitemap.

frankenstein897
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:51 am
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: XML Sitemap issues?

Post by frankenstein897 » Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:49 am

Ok, I will check it out. Thanks
Thanks,
Chris

http://www.networkcablesonline.com
Network Cables Online, LLC
Running AbleCommerce GOLD R6

frankenstein897
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:51 am
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: XML Sitemap issues?

Post by frankenstein897 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:38 pm

Anyone know if this was fixed in R4?
Thanks,
Chris

http://www.networkcablesonline.com
Network Cables Online, LLC
Running AbleCommerce GOLD R6

User avatar
mazhar
Master Yoda
Master Yoda
Posts: 5084
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 8:21 am
Contact:

Re: XML Sitemap issues?

Post by mazhar » Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:31 am

frankenstein897 wrote:Anyone know if this was fixed in R4?
EDIT Yes its avilable in Gold R4. You can see it here in http://help.ablecommerce.com/upgrades/a ... _to_r4.htm
[AC8-1627] - XML sitemap generates product and category display page entries.

frankenstein897
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:51 am
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: XML Sitemap issues?

Post by frankenstein897 » Mon May 13, 2013 8:42 pm

BTW, it appears this issue is still there.
Thanks,
Chris

http://www.networkcablesonline.com
Network Cables Online, LLC
Running AbleCommerce GOLD R6

User avatar
jmestep
AbleCommerce Angel
Posts: 8164
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Dayton, OH
Contact:

Re: XML Sitemap issues?

Post by jmestep » Tue May 14, 2013 4:24 am

Did you use the App_Code/CommonSiteMapProvider.cs that came in R4?
I'm not seeing the issue in R4 and there is a change from the R3 file:
foreach (Webpage wp in store.Webpages)
{
if (wp.WebpageType == WebpageType.Content && wp.Visibility == CatalogVisibility.Public)
{
url = UrlGenerator.GetBrowseUrl(wp.Id, CatalogNodeType.Webpage, wp.Name);
siteMapItems.Add(new SiteMapUrl(GetAbsoluteUrl(url), options.DefaultChangeFrequency, options.DefaultUrlPriority));
}
}

Code: Select all

 foreach (Webpage wp in store.Webpages)
            {
                if (wp.WebpageType == WebpageType.Content && wp.Visibility == CatalogVisibility.Public)
                {
                    url = UrlGenerator.GetBrowseUrl(wp.Id, CatalogNodeType.Webpage, wp.Name);
                    siteMapItems.Add(new SiteMapUrl(GetAbsoluteUrl(url), options.DefaultChangeFrequency, options.DefaultUrlPriority));
                }
            }
Judy Estep
Web Developer
jestep@web2market.com
http://www.web2market.com
708-653-3100 x209
New search report plugin for business intelligence:
http://www.web2market.com/Search-Report ... -P154.aspx

frankenstein897
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 11:51 am
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: XML Sitemap issues?

Post by frankenstein897 » Tue May 14, 2013 6:00 am

I am simply using the checkboxes in the sitemap screen in the Admin.
Thanks,
Chris

http://www.networkcablesonline.com
Network Cables Online, LLC
Running AbleCommerce GOLD R6

User avatar
jmestep
AbleCommerce Angel
Posts: 8164
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Dayton, OH
Contact:

Re: XML Sitemap issues?

Post by jmestep » Wed May 15, 2013 5:53 am

When I checked it out in R4, I had checked the box in the admin to generate for web pages and the content pages were the only ones that showed up. That is because of the snippet of code that got added to that file in R4.
Judy Estep
Web Developer
jestep@web2market.com
http://www.web2market.com
708-653-3100 x209
New search report plugin for business intelligence:
http://www.web2market.com/Search-Report ... -P154.aspx

Post Reply