How customise menu in GOLD ?

For general questions and discussions specific to the AbleCommerce GOLD ASP.Net shopping cart software.
Post Reply
pjs75
Ensign (ENS)
Ensign (ENS)
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 9:10 pm

How customise menu in GOLD ?

Post by pjs75 » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:35 pm

I want to have some users (ie staff) see 1 extra custom page.

In version 7 I would edit the header layout using nvelocity tags. Now all I can see is to directly edit ConLib\StoreHeader.ascx ?

Is this the correct way to do this? Strangely, the Merchant guide here: http://help.ablecommerce.com/mergedProj ... /index.htm
says absolutely nothing about this :-/

Thanks,

Pat.

User avatar
mazhar
Master Yoda
Master Yoda
Posts: 5084
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 8:21 am
Contact:

Re: How customise menu in GOLD ?

Post by mazhar » Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:26 am

pjs75 wrote:I want to have some users (ie staff) see 1 extra custom page.

In version 7 I would edit the header layout using nvelocity tags. Now all I can see is to directly edit ConLib\StoreHeader.ascx ?

Is this the correct way to do this? Strangely, the Merchant guide here: http://help.ablecommerce.com/mergedProj ... /index.htm
says absolutely nothing about this :-/

Thanks,

Pat.
Yes you will need to modify the storeheader.ascx file.

pjs75
Ensign (ENS)
Ensign (ENS)
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 9:10 pm

Re: How customise menu in GOLD ?

Post by pjs75 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:39 am

So there is no ability to have dynamic menus any more? I thought GOLD was an upgrade, not a downgrade..
The way it's been sold is so many improvements - there should be clear documentation on what also has been removed.

I'm really surprised something as basic as this is no longer possible without lots of coding.

Patrick.

User avatar
ForumsAdmin
AbleCommerce Moderator
AbleCommerce Moderator
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:19 am

Re: How customise menu in GOLD ?

Post by ForumsAdmin » Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:19 am

Detailed explanations have been posted many times in forums about why NVelocity in store pages was not suitable and scalable in the long run.

Going forward it had to be done away with. Like any such change, some users liked it and some didn't. Whatever you were able to achieve with editing NVelcoity in scriptlets can always be achieved by editing the controls. If you want to edit the menu all you need to do is to edit the storeheader conlib control.

Code: Select all

	<div id="headerNavigation">
		<div class="navigation">
			<asp:HyperLink ID="HomeLink" runat="server" NavigateUrl="~/Default.aspx" CssClass="tab" Text="Home" />
			<asp:HyperLink ID="SearchLink" runat="server" NavigateUrl="~/Search.aspx" CssClass="tab" Text="Product Finder" />
			<asp:HyperLink ID="AdvSearchLink" runat="server" NavigateUrl="~/AdvancedSearch.aspx" CssClass="tab" Text="Advanced Search" />
			<asp:HyperLink ID="CurrencyLink" runat="server" NavigateUrl="~/Currencies.aspx" CssClass="tab" Text="Currencies" />
			<asp:HyperLink ID="ContactLink" runat="server" NavigateUrl="~/ContactUs.aspx" CssClass="tab" Text="Contact Us" />
		</div>
	</div>
The above code emits the menu. Want to hide a menu item? use Visible="false" property.
Want to add another menu item? Just copy one of the menu lines and edit it.

User avatar
dmurphy4
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:47 pm
Location: Wichita, Kansas USA

Re: How customise menu in GOLD ?

Post by dmurphy4 » Thu May 16, 2013 7:49 am

Can someone please try to explain how I would call a dynamic menu in the head of the website?

In 7.X I was able to call the simple category list conlib in the header scriptlet. This way I was able to create a nice dropdown menu in the head of the website like shown at http://www.stearnsflotation.com.

I understand the header is now a conlib file itself. So how would I accomplish the menu I had built with 7.X? I can't just call the SimpleCategoryList conlib reference inside the StoreHeader conlib... doesn't seem to work that way.

Thanks!
Daniel Murphy
Web Developer - Front End
http://StearnsFlotation.com, http://MadDogGear.com, http://Aerobed.com, http://Sevylor.com
Wichita, Kansas

User avatar
dmurphy4
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:47 pm
Location: Wichita, Kansas USA

Re: How customise menu in GOLD ?

Post by dmurphy4 » Thu May 16, 2013 1:25 pm

Bump.

I think I might need to simplify my question. How can a custom conlib be defined to be used in a certain zone? For example, I made a custom conlib (yes a horzontal menu) and wanted it to go in the header, footer... whatever zone I want it to go in. How do I do this?
Daniel Murphy
Web Developer - Front End
http://StearnsFlotation.com, http://MadDogGear.com, http://Aerobed.com, http://Sevylor.com
Wichita, Kansas

User avatar
jmestep
AbleCommerce Angel
Posts: 8164
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Dayton, OH
Contact:

Re: How customise menu in GOLD ?

Post by jmestep » Fri May 17, 2013 4:26 am

To test, I was able to put the Simple category list in the store header
In the file ConLib/StoreHeader.ascx, I added
<%@ Register src="~/ConLib/SimpleCategoryList.ascx" tagname="SimpleCategoryList" tagprefix="uc" %>

and

<uc:SimpleCategoryList ID="SimpleCategoryList" runat="server" />
Judy Estep
Web Developer
jestep@web2market.com
http://www.web2market.com
708-653-3100 x209
New search report plugin for business intelligence:
http://www.web2market.com/Search-Report ... -P154.aspx

User avatar
dmurphy4
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Lieutenant, Jr. Grade (LT JG)
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:47 pm
Location: Wichita, Kansas USA

Re: How customise menu in GOLD ?

Post by dmurphy4 » Fri May 17, 2013 12:47 pm

Great! Thank you. I should have caught that!
Daniel Murphy
Web Developer - Front End
http://StearnsFlotation.com, http://MadDogGear.com, http://Aerobed.com, http://Sevylor.com
Wichita, Kansas

Post Reply