System.webserver.modules issue

For general questions and discussions specific to the AbleCommerce GOLD ASP.Net shopping cart software.
Post Reply
mouse_8b
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:21 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

System.webserver.modules issue

Post by mouse_8b » Thu Aug 15, 2013 1:30 pm

Code: Select all

<add name="AbleCommerceHttpModule" type="CommerceBuilder.Services.HttpModule, CommerceBuilder.Licensing" preCondition="managedHandler"/>
I have a fresh install of AC Gold R5 on my local computer. I'm using Visual Studio 2012 Express for Web. The site was running on the Visual Studio Development Server, but Configure/SEO/Settings detected the classic ASP.Net Application pool, so I changed to IIS Express because I thought it would be better to get up to date with the integrated app pool.
However, once i switched to IIS Express, I can't load aspx pages (again). By process of elimination with lots of commenting in web.config, I found out that if I comment out the line quoted above, everything (seems to) works properly.

Why? What is that line of code doing that freaks out my IIS Express so much?

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: System.webserver.modules issue

Post by Katie » Sat Aug 17, 2013 7:05 am

Hello Cade,

I think you have a bad install. Can you try again without modifying any code? It should work because installation is fairly straight-forward. Just avoid making changes to the code or IIS after it is working.

Using the integrated app pool setting is correct.

Hope this helps,
Katie
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

mouse_8b
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:21 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: System.webserver.modules issue

Post by mouse_8b » Mon Aug 19, 2013 1:56 pm

When I try with unmodified code, I get the same install error that I have been trying to solve for almost 4 weeks.

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: System.webserver.modules issue

Post by Katie » Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:13 pm

At this point, it would be best to list the exact steps you are taking for the installation. Also, which file are you installing because we have two different versions (WAP and WSP). Try with a new development website using Visual Studio.

Let us know each step you take so we can figure out where things are going wrong.

Thanks
Katie
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

mouse_8b
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:21 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: System.webserver.modules issue

Post by mouse_8b » Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:32 pm


User avatar
ForumsAdmin
AbleCommerce Moderator
AbleCommerce Moderator
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:19 am

Re: System.webserver.modules issue

Post by ForumsAdmin » Tue Aug 20, 2013 7:45 am

- Which type of AbleCommerce Install are you deploying. Web Site version or Web Application version?

- Which Windows platform / version is in use on your system?

- Which version of IIS are you using?

- An out of the box standard installation does not require visual studio. Why are you doing with visual studio while installing?

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: System.webserver.modules issue

Post by Katie » Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:01 am

I think this is a continuation of the discussion here:

viewtopic.php?f=65&t=17519
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

mouse_8b
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:21 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: System.webserver.modules issue

Post by mouse_8b » Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:20 am

Katie wrote:I think this is a continuation of the discussion here:

viewtopic.php?f=65&t=17519
That's why I linked to it in my last post. From the linked post:
mouse_8b wrote: ... development server on my local Windows 7 computer ...
... I unzipped AbleCommerceGold-GoldR5-b5731-WSP.zip and ran AbleCommerce_WSP.sln ...
... I've tried both Visual Basic Development Server and IIS Express (8.0), to the same result ...
To more concisely answer your first 3 questions: Web Site Project, Windows 7 x64 Pro, IIS Express 8.

I'm using Visual Studio because I will need to migrate my customizations from AC 7.0.7 to AC Gold R5. Does IIS Express under Visual Studio behave any differently than IIS Express on its own?

mouse_8b
Commander (CMDR)
Commander (CMDR)
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2010 1:21 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: System.webserver.modules issue

Post by mouse_8b » Wed Aug 21, 2013 10:47 am

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2708 ... rs-modules

This post let me know why I was seeing the pipeline error. Since the Visual Studio server wont work for me, and IIS Express is not working for me, I'm going to sign up for a VPS that will run the full IIS. Hopefully that will work.

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: System.webserver.modules issue

Post by Katie » Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:09 am

Thank Cade. Please let us know if you have any luck.

Awhile back, I remember having some trouble installing when my IIS was active while trying to also use Visual Web Developer's built-in website. I ended up turning off IIS Express and using only the built-in website that comes with VWD.
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

jdn717
Ensign (ENS)
Ensign (ENS)
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:12 pm

Re: System.webserver.modules issue

Post by jdn717 » Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:10 pm

Has anyone found a solution to your problem? I'm having similar issues. It is imperative that I use Visual Studio with IIS Express, why am I having so much trouble? Im using the WAP btw. I cant even get the installer to show up after opening the project.

Post Reply