Shipping Estimator

For general questions and discussions specific to the AbleCommerce GOLD ASP.Net shopping cart software.
Post Reply
kwikstand
Commodore (COMO)
Commodore (COMO)
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:12 pm
Contact:

Shipping Estimator

Post by kwikstand » Fri Aug 14, 2015 5:27 am

Why doesn't the shipping estimator show after a customer puts an item in the basket? I have it setup in the right column, but it shows only after the page is refreshed. It should show as soon as the item is added to the basket. I may have lost a sale of a van rack today because the customer said he could find the shipping cost easier on another site.
Contractor's Solutions
www. contractors-solutions.net

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Shipping Estimator

Post by Katie » Tue Aug 18, 2015 6:53 am

Hello,

I reported this as a bug and asked for a work-around.

Thanks for letting us know.

Katie
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

User avatar
Naveed
Rear Admiral (RADM)
Rear Admiral (RADM)
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 4:48 am

Re: Shipping Estimator

Post by Naveed » Wed Aug 19, 2015 12:21 am

This issue can be fixed by editing the ~/ConLib/BasketShippingEstimate.ascx control.

1. Open the file in Visual Studio

2. Look for the "UpdatePanel" tag around line # 20:

Code: Select all

<asp:UpdatePanel ID="EstimateForm" runat="server" UpdateMode="Conditional">
    <ContentTemplate>
3. Cut the above 2 lines of code and move up the UpdatePanel above "ShippingEstimatePanel" so it surrounds all the contents of the BasketShippingEstimate contents.

4. Also adjust the closing tags, and move those to match the opening tags.

Code: Select all

    </ContentTemplate>
</asp:UpdatePanel>
5. Now change the "UpdateMode" of the UpdatePanel from "Conditional" to "Always".

Code: Select all

<asp:UpdatePanel ID="EstimateForm" runat="server" UpdateMode="Always">
6. Save the changes.

You are done.

kwikstand
Commodore (COMO)
Commodore (COMO)
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Shipping Estimator

Post by kwikstand » Wed Aug 19, 2015 5:30 am

Thanks a lot, Naveed. It works great.

Now, if I can only get Google Remarketing to work...... I was on the phone with them this morning, but I think it is up to Able.
Contractor's Solutions
www. contractors-solutions.net

kwikstand
Commodore (COMO)
Commodore (COMO)
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Shipping Estimator

Post by kwikstand » Wed Aug 19, 2015 5:59 am

OK, now I just found one small bug with that fix. (Sorry)

If the product has accessories, or "Upsell" items, the shipping estimator doesn't work again.
Contractor's Solutions
www. contractors-solutions.net

User avatar
Naveed
Rear Admiral (RADM)
Rear Admiral (RADM)
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 4:48 am

Re: Shipping Estimator

Post by Naveed » Wed Aug 19, 2015 6:24 am

If a product have accessories/Upsell items associated then when you add the product to cart it redirects to ~/ProductAccessories.aspx page and do not stay at product display page anymore, so you will not see the shipping estimate control unless you edit the ~/ProductAccessories.aspx page and add the shipping estimate control there as well.

kwikstand
Commodore (COMO)
Commodore (COMO)
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Shipping Estimator

Post by kwikstand » Wed Aug 19, 2015 6:42 am

I am not really sure how to do that. One of the problems with the newer version of Able, is you can't simply edit these pages, only the product & category pages, the home page and web pages.
Contractor's Solutions
www. contractors-solutions.net

User avatar
Naveed
Rear Admiral (RADM)
Rear Admiral (RADM)
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 4:48 am

Re: Shipping Estimator

Post by Naveed » Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:11 am

You can add the BasketShippingEstimate to the ~/ProductAccessories.aspx page page by following these steps:

1. Open the ~/ProductAccessories.aspx in Visual Studio

2. Add following line of code at the top of the page (after first line) to register the control:

Code: Select all

<%@ Register src="~/ConLib/BasketShippingEstimate.ascx" tagname="BasketShippingEstimate" tagprefix="uc3" %>
3. Locate the code where we are adding mini basket control to the page by searching for following code:

Code: Select all

<uc2:MiniBasket ID="MiniBasket1" runat="server" />
4. And add following line of code to add the BasketShippingEstimate control right below the above:

Code: Select all

<uc3:BasketShippingEstimate ID="BasketShippingEstimate1" runat="server" />
5. Save the file and you are done.

kwikstand
Commodore (COMO)
Commodore (COMO)
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Shipping Estimator

Post by kwikstand » Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:39 am

Thanks a lot again!

I figured it was something like that, but didn't really know exactly how do it.

You have been a big help.
Contractor's Solutions
www. contractors-solutions.net

User avatar
jmestep
AbleCommerce Angel
Posts: 8164
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Dayton, OH
Contact:

Re: Shipping Estimator

Post by jmestep » Fri Aug 21, 2015 1:05 am

Naveed, since you are looking at the basket shipping estimate, could you check the following?
This is from memory- another developer was to troublshoot it. We have a site with a large quantity of categories and products and they wanted the basket shipping estimate showing in various places. The site was getting a large number of hits to the database and I think what they found was that the shipping estimate was doing it even when the customer wasn't asking for an estimate. If you don't see that happening, I can check with him again about the situation.
Thanks,
Judy
Judy Estep
Web Developer
jestep@web2market.com
http://www.web2market.com
708-653-3100 x209
New search report plugin for business intelligence:
http://www.web2market.com/Search-Report ... -P154.aspx

Post Reply