UPS error preventing checkout

For general questions and discussions specific to the AbleCommerce GOLD ASP.Net shopping cart software.
Post Reply
meer2005
Captain (CAPT)
Captain (CAPT)
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:00 pm

UPS error preventing checkout

Post by meer2005 » Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:45 am

Seeing this a lot and it prevents the customer from checking out. Just says "There are not shipping methods available for the specified shipping address." with the following in the error logs:
Error obtaining rate quote for shipping method 'Ground Shipping'.
Exception: The remote server returned an error: (403) Forbidden. Stack Trace: at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetResponse() at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.UPS.UPS.SendRequestToProvider(XmlDocument request, String url) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.UPS.UPS.GetAllProviderShipRateQuotes(Warehouse origin, Address destination, IList`1 contents) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.UPS.UPS.GetShipRateQuote(Warehouse origin, Address destination, IList`1 contents, String serviceCode) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.ShippingProviderBase.GetShipRateQuote(IShipment shipment, String serviceCode) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.ShipMethod.GetShipRateQuote(IShipment shipment)

User avatar
calvis
Rear Admiral (RADM)
Rear Admiral (RADM)
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 3:57 pm
Location: Redmond, WA

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by calvis » Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:56 am

We saw this earlier in the morning:

Code: Select all

Error obtaining rate quote for shipping method 'UPS Ground'. 
Exception: The remote server returned an error: (500) Internal Server Error. Stack Trace: at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetResponse() at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.UPS.UPS.SendRequestToProvider(XmlDocument request, String url) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.UPS.UPS.GetAllProviderShipRateQuotes(Warehouse origin, Address destination, IList`1 contents) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.UPS.UPS.GetShipRateQuote(Warehouse origin, Address destination, IList`1 contents, String serviceCode) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.ShippingProviderBase.GetShipRateQuote(IShipment shipment, String serviceCode) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.ShipMethod.GetShipRateQuote(IShipment shipment)]
Able Customer Since 1999 Currently Running on GOLD R12 SR1 and PCI Certified.

meer2005
Captain (CAPT)
Captain (CAPT)
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:00 pm

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by meer2005 » Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:06 pm

This will prevent checkout if that is the only ship method assigned to an item. I had to create a backup method to catch any of these and allow checkout. We're seeing quite a few of these.

User avatar
AbleMods
Master Yoda
Master Yoda
Posts: 5170
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:47 am
Location: Fort Myers, Florida USA

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by AbleMods » Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:22 am

Got a client that's been seeing UPS errors all day long today...always a 403-Forbidden response from UPS.
Joe Payne
AbleCommerce Custom Programming and Modules http://www.AbleMods.com/
AbleCommerce Hosting http://www.AbleModsHosting.com/
Precise Fishing and Hunting Time Tables http://www.Solunar.com

meer2005
Captain (CAPT)
Captain (CAPT)
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:00 pm

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by meer2005 » Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:04 am

Any update on this? We cannot go into the biggest shopping week of the year without the ability to quote shipping accurately. UPS is really the only option since FedEx is not an integrated carrier with AbleCommerce. The workaround above just simply allows the customer to checkout, but does is not a fix for this.

User avatar
Shopping Cart Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 3055
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 8:41 pm
Location: Vancouver, WA
Contact:

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by Shopping Cart Admin » Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:14 am

Hello,

We've not gotten any other reports on this, has it cleared up?

FedEx is available as a backup.

https://fedexacgold.codeplex.com/
Thanks for your support

Shopping Cart Guru
AbleCommerce.com
Follow us on Facebook

User avatar
AbleMods
Master Yoda
Master Yoda
Posts: 5170
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:47 am
Location: Fort Myers, Florida USA

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by AbleMods » Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:40 am

My client is still seeing the errors intermittently. Some orders have come through with UPS shipping methods, so the problem is not persistent.
Joe Payne
AbleCommerce Custom Programming and Modules http://www.AbleMods.com/
AbleCommerce Hosting http://www.AbleModsHosting.com/
Precise Fishing and Hunting Time Tables http://www.Solunar.com

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by Katie » Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:17 am

Found this information posted at the UPS developer site. It sounds like it could certainly be the issue.

Important Update: Implementing TLS Security Protocol

UPS is committed to ensuring the most current security requirements are used with our customers when shipment data is transmitted. To help ensure your shipping data remains encrypted, the security communication protocol for interactions with web-based applications must be upgraded to TLS 1.1 or 1.2.
UPS will be making changes beginning September 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017 to support enhancing our security. During this time, you may see intermittent failures for transactions using TLS1.0 or earlier.

Please visit the security requirements page on https://www.ups.com/content/us/en/resou ... urity.html for more information on this important change
-------------
We have a FAQ that can be used to ensure that AbleCommerce will use TLS 1.2. Please see http://help.ablecommerce.com/index.htm# ... LS_1.2.htm

Thanks
Katie
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

User avatar
Shopping Cart Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 3055
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 8:41 pm
Location: Vancouver, WA
Contact:

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by Shopping Cart Admin » Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:24 am

The 403 error in the first post is possibly the TLS issue. I ran a test and TLS 1.0 was still enabled on his server. Calvis's error is likely network related just due to UPS being overloaded. Though Joe's customer having the 403 error is troubling as I'm guessing his server has TLS 1.0 disabled, since he's pretty darn technical and was involved in the TLS discussions previously that resulted in the FAQ above.

You can test your site for TLS here:

https://www.ssllabs.com/ssltest/
Thanks for your support

Shopping Cart Guru
AbleCommerce.com
Follow us on Facebook

User avatar
AbleMods
Master Yoda
Master Yoda
Posts: 5170
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:47 am
Location: Fort Myers, Florida USA

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by AbleMods » Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:11 pm

Hmm I'll have to check. My primary server is pure TLS 1.2, but I don't recall if I performed the same steps on that particular client's server.

I'll check tonight or early tomorrow AM and update here.

I wasn't aware UPS was doing the TLS transition. Someone in UPS should fired for timing that transition right across the entire 2017 holiday shopping season.
Joe Payne
AbleCommerce Custom Programming and Modules http://www.AbleMods.com/
AbleCommerce Hosting http://www.AbleModsHosting.com/
Precise Fishing and Hunting Time Tables http://www.Solunar.com

User avatar
Shopping Cart Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 3055
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 8:41 pm
Location: Vancouver, WA
Contact:

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by Shopping Cart Admin » Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:25 pm

Someone in UPS should fired for timing that transition right across the entire 2017 holiday shopping season.
Our thoughts as well.
Thanks for your support

Shopping Cart Guru
AbleCommerce.com
Follow us on Facebook

User avatar
AbleMods
Master Yoda
Master Yoda
Posts: 5170
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:47 am
Location: Fort Myers, Florida USA

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by AbleMods » Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:38 pm

Ok my client has TLS 1.0 disabled and only supports TLS 1.1 and TLS 1.2. Both client and server protocols are set this way.

So I'm pretty sure I can rule out TLS as a problem. At least on our end.

Possibly it's an issue on the UPS side.
Joe Payne
AbleCommerce Custom Programming and Modules http://www.AbleMods.com/
AbleCommerce Hosting http://www.AbleModsHosting.com/
Precise Fishing and Hunting Time Tables http://www.Solunar.com

User avatar
Shopping Cart Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 3055
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 8:41 pm
Location: Vancouver, WA
Contact:

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by Shopping Cart Admin » Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:30 pm

Hi Joe,

We'd have hundreds of reports if this was wide spread with UPS, it's likely a network issue from one pier to another. It's a spider web of connections on the internet and some areas (providers) are more prone to issues than others. In our facility with 4 points of access to the backbone, we've not received a single report of anything like this that I can remember.
Thanks for your support

Shopping Cart Guru
AbleCommerce.com
Follow us on Facebook

meer2005
Captain (CAPT)
Captain (CAPT)
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 2:00 pm

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by meer2005 » Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:34 pm

Is the Fedex plugin above from AbleCommerce? We've added it and it does calculate but doesn't seem to handle dimensional weight with multiple items or use the calculate separately option properly. If you calculate a single item with dimensional weight, it calculates properly but it seems to be not looking at dimensions with multiple items even with "calculate separately" selected for the product.

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by Katie » Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:29 am

Is the Fedex plugin above from AbleCommerce?
Nope. I've never installed it myself, but I can give you a tip on testing. Enable the debug option. I assume (hope) there is one.

Make sure your basket is cleared. Now add a product that is simply shippable and another that has the "calculate separately" option, with dimensions of course. You can use the shipping estimate form to generate the log entry. Please do that and post the results here, making sure to remove any sensitive info.
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

User avatar
jmestep
AbleCommerce Angel
Posts: 8164
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:04 pm
Location: Dayton, OH
Contact:

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by jmestep » Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:51 am

Katie,
I was scanning through our help desk tickets for something else and we have a site with the problem.
Exception: The remote server returned an error: (403) Forbidden. Stack Trace: at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetResponse() at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.UPS.UPS.SendRequestToProvider(XmlDocument request, String url) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.UPS.UPS.GetAllProviderShipRateQuotes(Warehouse origin, Address destination, IList`1 contents) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.UPS.UPS.GetShipRateQuote(Warehouse origin, Address destination, IList`1 contents, String serviceCode) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.Providers.ShippingProviderBase.GetShipRateQuote(IShipment shipment, String serviceCode) at CommerceBuilder.Shipping.ShipMethod.GetShipRateQuote(IShipment shipment)
Judy Estep
Web Developer
jestep@web2market.com
http://www.web2market.com
708-653-3100 x209
New search report plugin for business intelligence:
http://www.web2market.com/Search-Report ... -P154.aspx

User avatar
Katie
AbleCommerce Admin
AbleCommerce Admin
Posts: 2651
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: UPS error preventing checkout

Post by Katie » Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:46 am

We just posted a work-around for the issue. Please see viewtopic.php?f=65&t=19160

Happy Thanksgiving!
Katie
Thank you for choosing AbleCommerce!

http://help.ablecommerce.com - product support
http://wiki.ablecommerce.com - developer support

Post Reply